This Holiday Season Just Say “Credit”

Okay last week I told you how to avoid holiday credit trouble and now this week I’m telling you to use your credit card for holiday purchases.  What gives?

Well this morning I was checking in with my zillions of news sources and one struck me. It was a story about how phishing scam incidents soar around this time of year. And yes! I want you all to be aware of this. Phishing is a dirty trick that criminals use to fool you into giving away information such as PINs, credit card information and more. Becareful! Don’t trust anyone who asks for sensitive information. NO ONE. Got it? Besides if they are legitimate, well then they’ll understand if you are reluctant.  So anyway, back to my topic (trust me this is related)….

If I order something online and it doesn’t arrive, I’ve got backup from the credit card company. All I have to do is make a phone call and I can halt payment for the item.  Note, however, that different credit card companies may have different policies. Some card companies will only dispute a merchant charge if the item was sold for more than $50. The Visa Zero-Liability policy states, “you won’t be held liable for unauthorized purchases made with your card or account information.”

This bit of assurance is also handy when you suspect fraud on your account. As soon as you identify an unexpected charge to your account, notify the credit union. As with almost anything early detection is the key. Again, Visa is on your side, “Visa’s cardholder protection policy requires all financial institutions issuing Visa products to extend provisional credit for losses from unauthorized card use within 5 business days of notification of the loss.”

Belive me as the holidays become more frenzied, my shopping becomes harder to keep track of, but putting items on my card (whether debit or credit) actually helps me keep track of things. Hopefully, it will also help me remember where I’ve hidden them once it’s time to give the gifts.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

